Tags

, , , ,

Some books you like for the plot, others you like for the language. I think it’s something of a misnomer to say “I don’t like reading”. It’s like saying you don’t like music, it’s probably because you haven’t found the right music yet.

cat-o'neil-nickhornbycover

High Fidelity’s Rob sat among his mix tapes, records of his top 5 break-ups.

One of my favourite authors of all time is Nick Hornby, writer of High Fidelity, About A Boy and A Long Way Down. Hornby has a brilliant understanding of relationships (not just romantically) and the process of individual growth, but also writes in a really accessible way. To cut my swooning short, I like his books because they’re just so damn wise. They’re also not pretentious. And very British (not in a patriotic sort of way, but familiar. Maybe that’s more because of the regular appearance of miserable, sarcastic gits which I have a bit of a soft spot for).

cat-o'neil-nickhornbyfulljacket

So Happy Birthday, Nick Hornby. I can’t give him a personalised message from The Boss, but here’s an homage styled as a book cover. I love how he constructs stories, so it’s a portrait of the man himself building his books.

(and in case anyone has read the books, About A Boy on the back cover is a reference to Dead Duck Day)

