Tags

, ,

The third poetry post!

co_italianinstitute_ennui

Ennui

Even this night will pass

This solitary wandering
the wavering shadows on tramlines
on the damp
asphalt

I watch the heads of cabbies
nodding
as they doze

I’m quite familiar with the feeling of listlessness; like when you actually have a fair few things you could get on with but you don’t feel like doing any of them. Sometimes I wish I had a Nutrimatic Drinks Dispenser from Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy except instead of analysing my taste buds, metabolism and neural pathways to see what I want to eat it would figure out what I would most enjoy doing… which sounds very lazy and indecisive. And is. Anyways, this poem reminded me of the times when I didn’t know what to do with myself (*cue Kate Moss pole dancing to Jack White vocals*) which is particularly frustrating when you’re self employed in a creative profession as I feel like I ought to be working all the time. So you end up being trapped in a sort of cage of all the possibilities of things you could do, with all of the potential to do something but none of the effort to implement it.

