Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Earlier in the month I received my copy of 3×3 Illustration ProShow No.9 Annual… which was rather nice as I am in it. I was awarded merit in sequential imagery; here is my page in 3×3!

I have to admit, I’d have preferred a white background and to have been credited as Cat O’Neil rather than Catriona O’Neil (*sigh*) but all in all it’s a wonderful book to be included in. This has all touched a rather sentimental part of me cause 3×3 was my introduction to what contemporary illustration is. As a student (so… last spring) I would buy the annuals every year and cherry pick my heroes like Yuko Shimizu, Brian Stauffer and James Jean. Being included in a pro show book with the likes of Victo Ngai (my current illustration crush.. *swoon*) is literally my art school dream. It’s also particularly wonderful because this series of work was done as album art for my father Alex O’Neil, who is an incredibly talented folk/jazz/classical guitarist. I’m not biased at all. Obviously. Anyways I will shamelessly promote his album on this blog later on in the year when it’s produced! Here’s the cover of 3×3 so you can check it on the shelves:

3×3 Issue 19, Pro Show No.9. Cover illustration by Aaron Meshon

